The 10 individuals featured in a group photo captured by iconic photographer, Annie Leibovitz, are linked to the development of the many life-saving vaccines we have today.

Some noteworthy individuals represented are Deborah Sabin, Dr. Albert Sabin's daughter, as well as Sabin Gold Medal Winners Dr. Stanley Plotkin and Dr. Marc Laforce among others. Dr. Sabin's development of the oral polio vaccine in 1961 has contributed to the global eradication of the disease in most nations, with only 1% prevalence remaining in countries such as Nigeria. Dr. Stanley Plotkin developed the rubella vaccine and Dr. Marc Laforce was the founding director of the Meningitis Vaccine Project.



Continue reading.