Awards & Recognitions

Awarded annually, the Sabin Gold Medal and Rising Star Award honors individuals who have made extraordinary contributions to immunization and global health. These awards commemorate the legacy of the late Dr. Albert B. Sabin, who discovered the oral polio vaccine and dedicated his life to ensuring everyone in the world had access to vaccines.

2023 Gold Medal Recipient

Dr. Thomas Monath

Thomas P. Monath, MD

30th Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal Recipient

Dr. Monath is internationally recognized for his work in both virology and vaccinology. His four decade-long career began in the U.S. government, transitioned to the biotechnology sector, and resulted in several innovative vaccines including those for Ebola Zaire, smallpox, West Nile virus, Zika and influenza. Four of his vaccines are licensed and commercialized. He has published more than 425 scientific papers, six books on virology and vaccine development, and has 35 patents to his name.

2023 Rising Star Recipient

Dr. Sangwe Clovis Nchinjoh

Sangwe Clovis Nchinjoh, MD, MPH, MS

2023 Sabin Rising Star Recipient

Dr. Nchinjoh is a public health physician and researcher in Cameroon. His work primarily focuses on generating evidence on the best approaches to identifying, mapping, and vaccinating zero-dose children in missed communities and conflict settings.