2020 Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal Ceremony

The Sabin Vaccine Institute (Sabin) today announced that it has awarded its annual Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal to Gordon Dougan, FRS, professor in the Department of Medicine and the Cambridge Institute for Therapeutic Immunology and Infectious Disease at the University of Cambridge. Sabin also presented the inaugural Rising Star Award to Katherine E. Gallagher, MSc, PhD, assistant professor of epidemiology at the London School of Hygiene and Tropical Medicine.


August 13, 2020



Watch the Ceremony

About the Gold Medal

The Albert B. Sabin Gold Medal has been awarded annually since 1994 to a distinguished member of the public health community who has made extraordinary contributions in the field of vaccinology or a complementary field. Recipients also serve as role models for young researchers through their work driving development and use of vaccines and mentorship of the next generation of vaccine scientists. The Gold Medal is the highest scientific honor given by the Sabin Vaccine Institute and commemorates the legacy of the late Dr. Albert B. Sabin.